First News
Volume:7, Number:26
First News ad
First News completed 350 issues and seven years of publication on July 2. We thank our readers, contributors, patrons and well-wishers for their continued support

Master Plan for New Areas Underway

| Navid Ahmed |

The initial boundaries have been set for the 8 unions, which have been incorporated into Dhaka North City Corporation after being divided into 18 wards. Assisted by Bangladesh University of Engineering and Technology, the preparation of the master plan for the new areas is underway to ensure civic amenities and proper use of land. The decision to include 8 unions into both the Dhaka City Corporations was taken in a meeting arranged by National Implementation Committee for Administrative Reforms (NICAR) on May 9. Badda, Bhatara, Satarakula, Harirampur, Uttarkhan, Daksinakhan and Dumani will now come under with Dhaka North City Corporation.

Approximately 82.638 square kilometers was the previous area of DNCC. After adding 8 new unions, the new area of north city is 196.228 square kilometers. 113.59 square kilometers is the total area of the newly included 8 unions. According to the census 2011, the total population of Dhaka North City Corporation stands at 1,56,07,319 after the inclusion of 8 new unions. After the official announcement of increasing areas by the City Corporation, the authorities have already started their work with different government organizations with a view to developing the newly incorporated unions. According to the Detailed Area Plan (DAP) of RAJUK, the master plan for using the land of the areas is in progress with the help of BUET. The work of determining the size of the road, park, playground, preservation of water bodies, installing lampposts, setting up ward offices, determining holding taxes, issuance of trade licenses and more come under the plan. Officials of NDCC said that the process of developing unplanned unions is time-consuming and costly. That is why they are giving the highest priority to proper use of land.

According to NDCC’s sources, the initial boundary has been set by dividing the incorporated 8 unions into 18 wards. Badda union has been incorporated into wards 37 and 38. Bhatra has also been incorporated into wards 37 and 38 while Satarakula into wards 39 and 40.

Harirampur has been divided into 4 wards. These wards number 51, 52, 53 and 54. Thus, Daksinakhan has been divided into wards numbered 44, 45 and 46; Uttarkhan has been broken into wards 44, 45 and 46. The number of wards in NDCC will be 54 after these 18 new wards are included. The rear area of Mirpur Zoo has also been attached with NDCC’s ward no. 6.

Although the residents of these unions enjoyed the amenities of a metropolitan city, on papers they were residents of villages. Everything has been developed in an unplanned way. Crammed alleys, narrow lanes and roads are filled with potholes. No development fund has been allocated for these areas in the current fiscal year’s budget for Dhaka North City Corporation.

Share With:

House No. 10/22 (2nd floor), Iqbal Road, Mohammadpur, Dhaka-1207 Telephone: 88-02-9185124, 01712193344 E-mail:

© 2015 First News. All rights reserved