First News
Volume:7, Number:46
First News ad
First News completed 350 issues and seven years of publication on July 2. We thank our readers, contributors, patrons and well-wishers for their continued support

BRAC Bank-Samakal Shahitya Puroshkar 2016 Awarded

| Ava Tahsin |

BRAC Bank-Samakal Shahitya Puroshkar 2016 was awarded at a program in the capital on May 20. Finance minister AMA Muhith graced the event as chief guest. Daily Samakal publisher A. K. Azad, editor Golam Sarwar, managing director and BRAC Bank CEO, Selim R. F. Hussain, literary personalities and other social elites of the country attended the award program. Ahmed Rafique, Jyotiprokash Dutta, and Mazhar Sarkar won the ‘BRAC Bank-Samakal Shahitya Puroshkar 2016’. Ahmed Rafique won the award for his book ‘Ekusher Dinlipi’ in the essay, autobiography, travel story, and translation category, Jyotiprokash Dutta for his book ‘Swapner Simanai Parapar’ in the poetry and novel category, and Mazhar Sarkar for his book ‘Rajniti,’ in the ‘Humayun Ahmed Young Writer’ category.

BRAC Bank and Daily Samakal launched the literary award in 2011 to inspire writers and litterateurs to further enrich Bangla literature with their creative work. Later, the Young Writer’s Award was dedicated in memory of the late legendary novelist, Humayun Ahmed. Since its inception, the literary award has generated huge enthusiasm in the literary community of Bangladesh. A total of 512 books were submitted this year for the three categories. A jury panel comprised of professor Mustafa Nurul Islam, poet Asad Chowdhury, novelists Selina Hossain and Hayat Mahmud, selected the winning books.

Share With:

House No. 10/22 (2nd floor), Iqbal Road, Mohammadpur, Dhaka-1207 Telephone: 88-02-9185124, 01712193344 E-mail:

© 2015 First News. All rights reserved